MailConnect returns Error 05

John Dowbiggin

Hi All

I am adding some email functionality to an app in UniPaas 1.9i and all has been going fine and my apps have been sending emails with attachments as they should.  Then, suddenly, for no apparent reason, my MailConnect is timing out and returning error code -5.

I;ve tried, rebooting laptop, router to no avail.

What does error -5 mean and what is a possible solution.

I haven’t changed and mail settings because they are all set in logical names.

Regards

John

Steven Blank

John,

I've no experience with the MailConnect() function, nor with any of uniPaaS' built-in email functions. That said, I noticed a function MailError() that appears to me to be a good first step, that is, pass that (-5) error code to MailError() and reap a returned string message that may (or may not) assist in your diagnosis.

Steven G. Blank
SGBlank Consulting

On 4/30/2022 9:17 AM, John Dowbiggin wrote:

Hi All

I am adding some email functionality to an app in UniPaas 1.9i and all has been going fine and my apps have been sending emails with attachments as they should.  Then, suddenly, for no apparent reason, my MailConnect is timing out and returning error code -5.

Regards

John

John Dowbiggin

Hi Steve

I have actually built in MailError to the routine and it tells me that error – 5 is server timed out.

Using the example in Online Samples, I tried and succession of things:

1: Left Mail Server blank – got Error Code – 5 Connection Timed Out

2: Put in spurious Mail Server. If I pit in a valid format address I get error -5, but if I just put in any old string I get ‘The address is not valid’ with error code -100

3: Put in correct server address without port leave user blank and get ‘There was no response from the server’ error code -12

4:Put in correct server address and username, leave password blank, get ‘There was no response from the server ‘ error code -12